Menu Close



The Constitution of AUAP was signed and entered into force at Suranaree University of Technology, Nakhon Ratchasima Province, Thailand on 28 July 1995.The Founding Members were the following universities:

1. Deakin University, Australia.

26. Araullo University, Philippines

2. Edith Cowan University, Australia

27. Banquet State University, Philippines

3. James Cook University of North Queensland, Australia

28. Centro Escolar University, Philippines

4. The University of Sydney, Australia

29. De La Salle University, Philippines

5. The University of Melbourne, Australia

30. Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University, Philippines

6. University of Technology Sydney,  Australia.

31. Gregorio Araneta University Foundation, Philippines

7. University of Wollongong, Australia.

32.  Holy Angel University, Philippines

8. Guizhou University, China

33.  San Sebastian College – Recoletos, Philippine

9. Yunan University, China.

34.  Southwestern University, Philippines

10. The University of Hong Kong, China.

35.  Saint Paul University, Philippines

11. Universidad de Macau (Macau), China.

36.  University of Cebu, Philippines

12. Cochin University, India

37.  University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos, Philippines

13. Gujarat University, India

38.  University of Northern Philippines, Philippines

14. Indira Gandhi National Open University, India

39.  Wesleyan University-Philippines, Philippines

15. Panjab University, India

40.  University of San Jose –Recoletos, Philippines

16. University of Dehli, India

41.  West Visayas State University, Philippines

17. Brawijaya University, Indonesia

42.  Western Mindanao State University, Philippines.

18. Trisakti University, Indonesia

43.  Bulacan State University, Philippines

19. University of Indonesia, Indonesia

44.  Manuel S. Enverga University Foundation, Philippines

20. Hannan University, Japan

45.  Bangkok University, Thailand

21. Seoul City University, South Korea

46.  Chulalongkorn University, Thailand

22. Universiti Pertanian Malaysia, Malaysia

47.  Suranaree University of Technology, Thailand

23. University of Otago, New Zealand

48.  Walailak University, Thailand

24. Adamson University, Philippines

49.  Hanoi University of Technology, Vietnam

25. Angeles University Foundation, Philippines

50.  University of Dalat, Vietnam.

51.  Vietnam National University, Hanoi, Vietnam


1. The 10th AUAP-University of Newcastle Special General Conference held at The University of Newcastle, Australia, on December 7, 2013. 

2. The 14th AUAP General Conference held virtually on 18 November 2020


The Universities of Asia and the Pacific through their representatives assembled in conference at Suranaree University of Technology, Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand, on 28 July 1995:

Recognizing the need to relate education to the life and aspirations of the people, and to preserve and enhance the cultural, social and economic development of society for the people, and

Believing that regional cooperation among universities can contribute substantially to the improvement of national systems of higher education, to economic and social development, to human resources development and to mutual understanding and respect among people, and

Further believing that such co-operation can be highly effective and manageable on a regional scale, and

Conscious that the diversity of the institutions and systems of higher education of Asia and the Pacific constitutes a resource which can be drawn upon to the advantage of all concerned, and

Believing that an association of the universities of the region can enhance mutual co-operation among individual institutions to enrich their role in teaching, research and service and thus in promoting justice, human dignity, progress and peace, and

Believing also that in these matters the efforts of a regional association will complement those of international, sub-regional and national bodies concerned with higher education,

Hereby decide to establish an association: Association of Universities of Asia and the Pacific.


AUAP was established under the General Provisions Act of Suranaree University of Technology (SUT) and approved at the 7th/237 SUT Council Meeting on the 17th September 1994. 

AUAP’s designation is covered by Suranaree University of Technology, which is registered as an Autonomous University by the Ministry of Education, Thailand, with an official document of authorization published in the Government Gazette, Article 107, Section 131, Special Vol. pp. 93, on 27th July 1990.

The permanent headquarters and address of the Association shall be: Suranaree University of Technology, Nakhon Ratchasima, 111 University Avenue, Muang District

download file >>>